Our Family
Serving Yours

For Over 40 Years

Obituaries & Services

The listings below represent the current and recent services entrusted to our care. If the service you are looking for is not shown, please enter the name of the deceased in the search box and click search.


View archived obituary listings in alphabetic order by clicking on the Archives button.


Services

Dorothy Oldham Williams

September 2, 1924 ~ March 11, 2019

Services will be held: March 30, 2019

Hester Rouse Garner

July 9, 1931 ~ March 19, 2019

Services will be held: March 22, 2019

Sandra Faye Collins

07/01/1947 ~ March 18, 2019

Services will be held: March 21, 2019

Pastor James L. Upchurch

September 15, 1941 ~ March 17, 2019

Services will be held: March 22, 2019

Letha Faye Etheridge

6/6/1939 ~ 3/16/2019

Services will be held: March 20, 2019

Jacob Joseph Sanok, III

10/24/1952 ~ March 17, 2019

Services will be held: March 23, 2019

Wayne Allen Taylor

1-29-1943 ~ 3-16-2019

Services will be held: March 19, 2019

Karen Keith Stewart

October 9, 1961 ~ March 7, 2019

Services will be held:

Avis Rhodes Hall



June 24, 1925 ~ March 10, 2019

ANGIER- Avis Rhodes Hall, 93, formerly of Angier NC, passed away peacefully after a period of declining health on March 9, 2019. Avis was born in Onslow County to the late Guy and Rosamond Rhodes on June 24, 1925. She graduated from Richlands High School, attended Atlantic Christian College (now Barton College), and moved to Angier in 1951 where her husband, Haywood was affiliated with First Citizens Bank. Avis moved to Windsor Point in Fuquay in 2017, where every need was met with grace and love. She is preceded in death by her parents, husband, brother Cecil Rhodes and sister Madeline Garner.

Avis was Director of the Retired Senior Volunteer Program in Harnett county for 16 years and retired in 1990. A member of Angier Baptist Church, she served as a deaconess and WMU director. A very compassionate person, Avis was involved in many areas of service in the community, church and county. She was a charter member of the Lee-Harnett Alliance for the Mentally Ill and a past member of the Lee-Harnett Mental Health Authority. Her interest in older adults prompted her to coordinate and help organize the Angier Senior Citizens Club. As President and avid supporter of the Angier Friends of the Library, she and her husband initiated a fund-raising drive for the Angier Public Library which helped elevate the local library to one of the best in the county. She was named Woman of the Year by the Angier Chamber of Commerce in 1983 and again in 1999.

Avis is survived by a daughter, Marye Rhodes Hall of Wilson, son Robert Haywood Hall and wife, Nancy of Apex. Grandchildren David and wife Liz of Knightdale, Eric and wife Christy of Cary, Kathryn, Rebecca and Lydia of Apex. Great-grandchildren Natalya, Peter, Donovan, Jackson, Spencer and Mackenzie.

Special thanks to Glenda McLeod, Betty Jo Spivey, Delores Stephenson and Patricia Young for the faithful love and devotion they have shown to Avis and Marye.

Visitation will be held at Angier Baptist Church on Saturday, March 16 at 10:00 a.m., followed by funeral service at 11:00 a.m. Graveside service at Onslow Memorial Park, Jacksonville NC at 3:30 p.m.. In lieu of flowers, memorials may be made to Angier Baptist Church, PO Box 130, Angier NC 27501 or to NAMI Wake County, PO Box 12562, Raleigh NC 27605.


Visitation

March 16, 2019

10:00-11:00 AM

Angier Baptist Church
155 S. Hickory St. Angier, NC 27501

Service

March 16, 2019

11:00 AM

Angier Baptist Church
155 S. Hickory St. Angier, NC 27501

The burial will be held at 3:30 PM on Saturday, March 16th at Onslow Memorial Park, 3280 Richlands Hwy. Jacksonville, NC 28540.

Guestbook

  1. Walt and Rudean Senter

    A CHRISTIAN WOMEN IF THERE EVER WAS ONE FOR SHE LOVE EVERY ONE SHE SAW. WHEN WE STARTED AT AT ANGIER 8 YEARS AGAIN SHE WAS THE FIRST PERSON TO MAKE US FEEL LIKE WE WERE HOME. WE LOVE HER AND ALWAYS WILL.

  2. Glenda Johnson

    Avis was always willing to do anything to help. When I was working part-time in the church office she would let us know of the sick in our community and when to remove them from the prayer list, which was a big help. The Lord will tell her well done, thy true and wonderful servant.

  3. Dianne Godfrey

    Avis was a beautiful and gracious lady. She was the first to welcome us at Angier Baptist. I’ll never forget that she came right to us and took our hands and said
    “Hello, I’m Avis and I try harder.” (Remember the Avis-Hertz car rental commercials?) She had a great sense of humor. Will see her again thanks to Calvary!

  4. Donna L. Denning

    She was my hero!!! So smart and involved in many, many activities. She made a difference in the Town of Angier, the County of Harnett, and the State of North Carolina, and made life better for the citizens.

  5. Louise Taylor

    Avis Hall was a remarkable woman, one who worked tirelessly but joyfully to make the world a better place. She was willing to work wherever she was needed–as a leader or as part of a group to make the world a better, safer, saner, and healthier place. And she also took the time to listen to the opinions of others and to look for ways to get a group to collaborate on a project. I offer my condolences to her family. We’re all a little poorer now that Avis is gone.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *